Investment and Business Development Agency

Visa Support

Visa Support

CzechInvest’s AfterCare Department also offers visa support for investors. In particular, the department provides consulting focused on the visa process in the Czech Republic and addresses the specific needs of investors throughout the process.  

Visa Support Provided By The AfterCare Department:

  • General consultation on the visa process in the Czech Republic, information services and mediation of contact with the relevant bodies and institutions concerned with visa issues
  • Communication with institutions of the state administration with respect to the visa process 
  • Consultation on projects involving accelerated visa processing – administration of the Welcome Package for Investors project and the Ukraine System, recommendation for inclusion in the Ukraine Project, Other states system and Fast Track project 
  • Arrangement of long-term stays for top managers and statutory representatives of companies – preparation of supporting and invitation letters and required recommendations 
  • Organization of preferential appointment dates for statutory representatives and their family members
  • Assurance of registration of foreigners with the Foreigners’ Police upon their arrival in the Czech Republic

The residence of foreigners in the Czech Republic is governed by Act No. 326/1999 Coll., on Residence of Foreign Nationals in the Czech Republic and on the Amendment of Certain Acts, as amended (hereinafter referred to as the “Foreign Nationals Act”). The current wording of the Foreign Nationals Act and related amendments are available on the website of the Ministry of the Interior.

The residence of foreigners in the Czech Republic is further governed by the legal regulations of the European Union and European Community. In the visa area, this primarily involves Regulation (EC) No. 810/2009 of the European Parliament and of the Council establishing a Community Code on Visas and Regulation (EC) No. 539/2001 (as amended), listing the third countries whose nationals must be in possession of visas when crossing the external borders and those whose nationals are exempt from that requirement.

All regulations of the Schengen acquis have been in force in the Czech Republic since 21 December 2007. The Czech Republic has been part of the Schengen area since that date.

More information is available on the relevant websites of the Ministry of the Interior and Ministry of Foreign Affairs.


We use cookies to ensure optimal functioning of our website. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. More information here